Book Review #4: The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend)

The DUFFNow, I didn’t read this on my iPod (Yes, I purchased the actual book), but I know that you can still purchase and read this as an ebook so it still qualifies for an review!

The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) is a Young Adult Novel by Kody Keplinger. I remember reading this book in 2011 when I was 16 and not really understanding the book at that time, but 2 nights ago, I finally watch the movie and I had a sudden urge to re-read this book. At age 20, I can finally say that I love this book, I can really relate to it and its characters, and I read it in under one day.

The DUFF is a novel about a young woman named Bianca Piper. She is neither pretty or ugly, but she is less attractive than her best friends, Casey and Jessica. While she knows this, it does not bother her until she bumps into Wesley Rush (her later on love interest) at her favourite chill spot, The Nest. He proceeds to tell Bianca that she should pretend to be happy with the fact that he is talking to her because she is the DUFF of her group. She gets angry and throws her favourite drink, Cherry Coke, in his face and storms off with her friends.

She begins to think about what her being the DUFF means about her life and social status as her life is beginning to ravel apart. She becomes overly distracted with the thoughts of her new found real unattractiveness and her parents impending divorce. At her next meeting with Wesley, he begins to irritate her just as he did last time, but they share a kiss in the Nest that will ultimately change the course of their relationship.

The next day, Wesley and Bianca are assigned to be partners on an upcoming English assignment. While working on the assignment at Wesley’s house, things get real intimate between the two of them, and their secret sexual relationship begins.

Bianca uses this relationship with Wesley as a way to escape her thoughts and the world that is crashing around her. Ultimately, he plan of using Wesley for an exhilarating escape backfires as she begins to fall for him.

My favourite line of this book has to be “Wesley Rush doesn’t chase girls, but I’m chasing you”. This line said so much about both characters transitions throughout the novel. It also made me feel warm and gushy inside and provoked a cute little “awww” so that’s also why I liked it. Wesley Rush is probably my fictional crush at the moment.

I rarely ever do this, but I would honestly rate the book 5/5. I can’t find anything really wrong with it. I LOVED reading this book and I crave a sequel (even though I know that probability is low). I fell in love with both the characters of Bianca and Wesley, as well as their additional friends and family members. This book didn’t leave me hating any characters or having second thoughts about them. It really was a feel good, coming of age book. I recommend it for all teens (over the age of 16).

The movie was also really good! Even thought it kind of deviates from the novel (because you really cant have those sex scenes in a teen movie) it was a very good film. It was funny, the roles of Bianca and Wesley were played well. I really did enjoy it. Its no mean girls, but I enjoyed it. And also based off of the movie, Wesley Rush is probably my fictional crush at the moment.

So, If you have not already read this book, I recommend that you do! It is such a good read!

Leave a Reply

