Money on My Mind

Lately, Sam Smith has become my new musical fascination. Sorry James Vincent McMorrow. After recently hearing Stay With Me (a song that I will probably write a long post about sooner or later because it evokes feelings from within), I just had to listen to more of his music and I was certainly not disappointed. Money on My Mind is a song discusses the difference between seeking love for happiness and love for security (mostly financial). It appears that Smith fell in love with someone of wealth and had to defend his motives at some point. This song combines the soothing sounds of Smith’s voice and a jazz background to create a catchy song. The only thing is I kind of did find his repetitive “Money on My Mind, Money on my mind…” line to be rather annoying as it detracts from the song. Otherwise I quite enjoyed listening to this piece of music and I can gaurentee that if you have already heard it, that you probably love it as well.

 

Leave a Reply

