RUDE

Has this ever happened to you? You know, that horrible moment when you find a song that you just LOVE so you keep on playing it all day, every day on repeat and you choose not to stop this travesty until you begin to despise the song? Well, that’s what is happening to me right now.

I rarely every think that it is in my interest to turn on the radio to listen (even though I have a blog about music so this is kind of a bad practice). On Saturday though I decided that it was time to let a little radio listening into my life… and then I heard the song that would inevitably change my life (okay may just my day…and week). Rude by Magic! is a new song that has a reggae infused beat. No only do I love the beat (because I love reggae and all), but the lead singers voice (I do not know his name) is just so beautiful that I feel in love on sight. I mean, I watched the video and I really did feel his pain. The song is so catchy and entertaining that even though you get the point, you feel that all will be okay for him in the end because hes still happy despite some fatherly rejection….AND I NEVER SAID WHAT THE SONG WAS ABOUT SO. In short summary terms, the song is about a hipster musician that wants to marry this girl from a conservative, middle class, (presumably Republican) family. Due to his non ivy-league ways, the father feels that he should not marry his daughter even though it appears that they are both truly in love. In the end, love prevails and they appear to marry without the fathers acceptance or consent (I don’t think that this can end well though). But it is a great concept for a song and I love it. All I wonder now is if this whole scenario has any truth for the members of this band…or are they just playing with us? Hmm.

 

One thought on “RUDE

Leave a Reply

