Breathe Me

This is probably going to be the deepest blog post I have ever written. I remember in Grade 5 when I first heard this song, and I had to excuse myself to go to the washroom and cry because every word of this song was so…relevant, true, relatable. It was the first time in my life that I had heard my life in words; it was the first time that I had every lived my life out through song. I really didn’t know how to feel. I think that this was the first time that I learnt that I could experience profound feelings through the music and that I could relate to music because not all songs were by the Spice Girls or Britney Spears. I had been bullied for many years of my elementary school life. I wasn’t thin, I wasn’t pretty, I wasn’t tall, I wasn’t rich…I wasn’t “It”. I was alone. Every time that I listen to this song till this day, I remember being pushed and kicked down the hill from my bully because I wasn’t “good enough”. I remember sitting in the far corner of the field alone because no one wanted to play with me. I remember sitting in a puddle of coca cola and soaking my pants just so that I would be accepted into a friendship group even if only for a minute. Most profoundly, I remember being…alone.

Breathe Me – Sia

One thought on “Breathe Me

Leave a Reply

