Same Love

I am absolutely in love with Mackelmore and Ryan Lewis right now. Even more so, I am in love with this song. On my daily TTC commutes to school this week, I have found myself listening to this song on repeat. Not only is the beat amazing (props to Lewis), but the lyrics of this song are even more profound. This song is about gay right and equality. Although Mackelmore is American, I think that this song was written to show the issues that homosexuals face in all parts of the world. This song perfectly paints a picture of the struggle and discrimination that is faced in this group of individuals. I love this song even more because it has made an issue that many refuse or dislike to talk about a mainstream discussion as one may listen to this song and reflect. Not only are Mackelmore’s lyrics just amazing, but the chorus, sung by Mary Lambert is even more beautiful; it completes the song. Lambert is a lesbian, and her line “she keeps me warm” is descriptive of how her love with her partner is just as valuable as a heterosexual love.  This song is just the perfect picture to be painted in this society today. We need to be open to the issues of social change and equality. I love this song, and it truly is one of the most memorable songs I have ever listened to. Great one Mackelmore, Great one.

 

2 thoughts on “Same Love

  1. The song is of love,” NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO BE WITHOUT THE EXPERIENCE” just because some stiff neck government official has a voice .A voice is a voice hear mine too.

Leave a Reply

